UPCOMING EVENTS


See All Events

DEAM Speakers Bureau

Employers, professional and industrial associations, organized labour and service clubs are invited to celebrate DEAM, by holding a Disability Employment Awareness Training Event in your place of business.  The aim is to help break some of the myths around disability, to promote disability-friendly workplaces, and to answer any questions you may have specific to your store, shop floor, construction site etc.

Below is a list of speakers or organizational contacts available for hour-long sessions held during business hours, for example a “Lunch and Learn”.  The list includes the area of expertise and contact information, so that you can get in touch with the trainers directly. The training sessions are free, unless otherwise specified.

Alternatively, you may prefer to incorporate our 2-minute video created to promote an understanding about disability accommodations in the workplace or this 16-minute video, called “A Hire Awareness”, into your celebration of DEAM.

Become part of the Speakers Bureau

If you would like to become one of the Speakers listed, please submit your information using our form below or by contacting:
Colleen Watters
Phone: 204-945-7613; Fax: 204-948-2896 
E-Mail: Colleen.Watters@gov.mb.ca


Available Speakers (listed alphabetically by surname)


Louis Gaudry, Public Speaker - Charisma Communications
Phone: 204-770-9268
Email: louis@charismacommunications.ca
URL: www.charismacommunications.ca

Topic: 

Note: I charge $150 per hour, $250 for 2 hours. I require a wireless microphone.

References: 

  1. Lori Hurtig, Manager of Community Relations
    Reaching E-Quality Employment Services (RE-ES)
    Phone: 204-832-7337 X 231
    Email:lhurtig@re-es.org
  2. Klaus Lahr, Director, General Manager & COO
    The Convention Centre Corporation
    Phone: 204-956-1720
    Email:klausl@wcc.mb.ca

Back to list


Darlene Hedgecock, Diversity & Inclusivity Development Programs Mgr - MB Civil Service Commission, Province of Manitoba
Phone:  204-945-5335 / Fax:  204-945-1486
E-Mail:  Darlene.Hedgecock@gov.mb.ca

Topic: 

References: 

  1. Rose Bear, Acting Director, Human Resource Services
    Civil Service Commission
    Phone: 204-945-2885
    Email: Rose.Bear@gov.mb.ca
  2. Glen Coutts, Senior Policy and Program Analyst, Employment and Training Services
    Manitoba Entrepreneurship, Training and Trade
    Phone: 204-945-3549
    Email: Glen.Coutts@gov.mb.ca

Back to list


Patricia Knipe, Communications Director - Manitoba Human Rights Commission
Phone:  204-945-5112 / Fax:  204-945-1292
E-Mail:  Patricia.Knipe@gov.mb.ca

Topic: 

Note: 
The Commission also offers, at a cost, half day seminars on reasonable accommodation, which can be tailored to various workplaces.  For more information on these seminars, please visit the Manitoba Human Rights Commission’s website at: www.manitobahumanrights.ca and click on workshops.

References: 

  1. Simon Gillingham, Workplace Consultant, Corporate Support Services
    City of Winnipeg
    Phone:  204-986-4494
    Email: SGillingham@winnipeg.ca
  2. Jackie Gruber, Human Rights and Equity Advisor, Human Rights and Advisory Services
    University of Manitoba
    Phone: 204-474-7388
    Email: Jackie.Gruber@umanitoba.ca

Back to list


Doug Lockhart - Independent Living Resource Centre
Phone: 204-947-0194; Fax: 204-943-6625
E-Mail:  dougl@ilrc.mb.ca

Topic:

Note:  Free  one hour lunch and learn sessions are available where your agency will discover what the ILRC has to offer and how DART can be tailored to suit your specific needs.

References: 

  1. Kyle Waterman, Security Manager, St. Vital Centre
    Phone:  204-258-7024
    E-Mail:  Kwaterman@20vic.com
  2. Dr. Rick Freeze, Professor, Inclusive Special Education, Educational Administration, Foundations and Psychology, Faculty of Education, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg MB  R3T 2N2
    Phone:  204-474-6904 or 204-257-9905
    E-Mail: Rick.Freeze@ad.umanitoba.ca

Back to list


Brent Pudsey, Citizenship Tutor (Volunteer) - Immigration Centre of Manitoba
Phone: 204-391-9971
Email: BrentPudsey@gmail.com
URL: https://sites.google.com/site/brentpudseyportfolio/

Topics:

References: 

  1. Terry McIntosh, Pace IL Consultant
    Independent Living Resource Centre
    Phone: 204-947-0194 X 332
    Email: terrym@ilrc.mb.ca
  2. Kevin Jacobs, Environmental Inspector
    Government of Manitoba
    Phone: 204-253-4988
    Email: jacobskb@gmail.com

Back to list


Donna Seale, Human Rights Lawyer, Educator & Workplace Investigator
Phone: 204-792-0912
Email: donna@donnaseale.ca
URL: www.donnaseale.ca

Topics:

Note:

Fee-based training only. Quotes can be provided after consultation with the client.

References: 

  1. Don McIntosh, Human Resources Consultant
    Forward Thinking HR Solutions Inc
    Phone: 204-296-8876
    Email: ForwardThinking@shaw.ca
  2. Don Rooney, Director, Labour Relations
    MTS Allstream
    Phone: 204-941-7567
    Email: don.rooney@mtsallstream.com

Back to list


Liz Van Reenen, Owner - I am Accessible - Beyond Limits
Phone: 204-415-8135
Email: emvr68@yahoo.ca
URL: http://accessiblebeyondlimits.wordpress.com/

Topics:

Note:
Sessions are tailored to your organization - from 1 to 3 hours. I am Accessible also offers motivational/inspirational topics suitable for annual meetings, conventions. Complimentary 1 hour meeting to assess your organization's needs.

References: 

  1. Shannon Fontaine, CEO
    Manitoba Tourism Education Council (MTEC)
    Phone: 204-772-5632
    Email:sfontaine@mtec.mb.ca
  2. Marc Danis
    Former Learning Services Coordinator
    Phone: 204-619-4290
    Email: darcmanis@gmail.com

Back to list


Colleen Watters, Policy analyst - Disabilities Issues Office, Province of Manitoba
Phone:  204-945-7613; Fax: 204-948-2896
E-Mail: Colleen.Watters@gov.mb.ca

Topics: 

References:  

  1. Mary-Jane Fisher, Civilian Human Resources, Federal Treasury Board
    Phone:  204-833-2500, ext. 4213
    E-mail:  MaryJane.Fisher@forces.gc.ca
  2. Jim Baker, President of the Manitoba Hotel Association
    Phone:  204-942-0671
    Email: jbaker@manitobahotelassociation.ca

Back to list


Become Part of the Speakers Bureau

For those interested in becoming part of the Speakers Bureau, please fill out this form below. Your information will be reviewed. If we have any questions, someone will contact you. If everything is in order, once your information as been added to this page, you will receive an email advising you of the update.

image of arrow pointed up and link to the top of the page image of arrow pointed up and link to the top of the page